If you want to get better at drawing a very good place to start is with studying the work of artists that you admire.

I recently returned to studying art full-time again after spending 9 months in New York. taking that much time from studying is pretty much a guarantee  that you’re going to get rusty. Getting rusty is frustrating. So I decided to do this study and take as much time with it as I could in order to get back into the swing of things.

Here’s Rockwell’s image:

To start, I draw a grid with the same proportions as the original piece on a piece of 18” by 24” newsprint. I draw the same grid on my reference image and use it to make my drawing as accurate as possible

After the drawing is done I start adding in the darker values. From there on it’s just refining the details until it’s done:

