I go to the San Diego Zoo pretty much every week, usually on Wednesdays. I used to go hoping to make some quality animal sketches to impress my friends and confound my enemies. Alas, drawing animals from life is actually very hard. So I adjusted my goals, and now I go to the zoo hoping for some amazing animal photos. This also happens to be pretty difficult, but being patient and going to the zoo often does certainly help.

I think the best way to experience the zoo is to not try to see everything, especially if I want to get some good pictures. Instead, I try to find an animal that seems active, or may be getting fed soon, and I stick around. I find that I enjoy the zoo the most not by catching a glimpse and a quick snapshot of a lot of animals, but by taking my time to observe and photograph just a few. I spent a lot of time with these tigers, for instance. I almost never get decent photos of these guys, but a combination of luck and perseverance resulted in a few pics that I was pretty happy with.

Tiger at the San Diego Zoo

Tiger at the San Diego Zoo

Tiger at the San Diego Zoo

Tiger at the San Diego Zoo

