Happy Mother’s Day, all! I hope you did something nice for yo mama. I know I did.

photo

My Mom happens to LOVE cheese blintzes. Now, I happen to be a vegan, so I am not so much into cheese blintzes. Since I didn’t eat these myself I can’t really vouch for how good the recipe is, but my family (mom especially) seemed to enjoy them plenty. They certainly had no problem eating two or three each!

So here’s what I did. Cheese blintzes start off with crepes. I have one good crepe recipe that I trust. It actually comes from some goofy magazine designed for american students learning French. I am not kidding. It’s called Allons-y! (Let’s Go! in French). This is seriously the only crepe recipe I use. Here it is, translated into English by no other than moi:

Ingredients:

250 grams of flour (about 2 cups)

3 eggs

1/2 litre of milk (about 2 cups)

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

pinch of salt

butter or cooking spray for frying

Procedure:

Pour flour into a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the flour and add the eggs. Mix well. Add the salt, oil, sugar and a little of the milk. Continue to mix, gradually adding the rest of the milk. Cover and allow to rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Melt some butter in a frying pan (or crepe pan, if you’re fancy) add about a quarter of a cup of the batter to the pan and swirl it around to evenly cover in a thin layer. allow to cook for 60 – 75 seconds before flipping.

If you just want to eat delicious crepes, you can stop here. Serve with Nutella or maple syrup or berries or whatever. The very French way is to eat them with sugar and lemon juice. But, if cheese blintzes are your goal, cook up all the batter and stack the crepes up in between sheets of wax paper. Then you can make this tasty filling for them!

Filling ingredients:

1 cup of ricotta cheese (or farmers cheese, if you can find it)

1 package of Philadelphia cream cheese

1/4 – 1/3 cup of sugar

1 egg yoke

juice from half a lemon

dash of vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Just mix all of the ingredients together with a fork. Easy!

Fill the crepes the way you would fill a burrito:

photo copy 2

 Place a dollop of filling on one half of the crepe

photo copy 3

fold crepe over filling

photo copy 4

fold the sides over to make an envelope of deliciousness

photo copy 6

 Roll crepe over one more time. See? Just like a burrito, but keep it somewhat flat so you can fry it.

photo copy 5

After filling the crepes, quickly pan fry on both sides until golden and crispy. I recommend using an oil with a high smoke point, such as canola or peanut oil. Blintzes are usually served with sour cream, but my Dad decided to just put another dollop of the filling on top. Enjoy!

